KAC: Command changelevel violation

Found a bug in KAC? Post it here.
Post Reply
nad
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2010 8:41 am

KAC: Command changelevel violation

Post by nad »

not sure exactly if this is a bug or not, but lately my admins have been getting banned for this,

"KAC: Command changelevel violation"

One time one admin tried changing the map with admin, and the second time it happened he claimed he didnt try to change the map at all it just banned him out of no where.

Kigen
Site Admin
Posts: 1496
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 11:08 am
Location: Right behind you....
Contact:

Re: KAC: Command changelevel violation

Post by Kigen »

What kind of admin mod is your admins using to change the level?
Image

nad
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2010 8:41 am

Re: KAC: Command changelevel violation

Post by nad »

I am using sourcemod, and it is the default: Map management > changemap > choose a map

as soon as you choose a map you instantly get banned.

Kigen
Site Admin
Posts: 1496
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 11:08 am
Location: Right behind you....
Contact:

Re: KAC: Command changelevel violation

Post by Kigen »

That isn't default. SourceMod lists the "Choose map" option under "Server Commands".

Can you tell use what "rcon sm plugins list" says?
Image

nad
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2010 8:41 am

Re: KAC: Command changelevel violation

Post by nad »

O sorry, its been so long since I messed with my admin menu that I didnt remember.

It is being added to the menu with adminmenu_custom.txt and I am using this

Code: Select all

                "Change Map"
		{
                        "admin"		"sm_ban"
			"cmd"		"changelevel #1"
			"1"
			{
				"type"		"mapcycle"
				"path"		"mapcycle.txt"
				"title"		"Choose Map:"
			}
		}

nad
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2010 8:41 am

Re: KAC: Command changelevel violation

Post by nad »

actually from looking in old configs it used to be set to this

Code: Select all

                "Change Map"
		{
                        "admin"		"sm_ban"
			"cmd"		"sm_map #1"
			"1"
			{
				"type"		"mapcycle"
				"path"		"mapcycle.txt"
				"title"		"Choose Map:"
			}
		}
this must be the problem, I will change it back. But what is the difference between sm_map and changelevel?

Kigen
Site Admin
Posts: 1496
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 11:08 am
Location: Right behind you....
Contact:

Re: KAC: Command changelevel violation

Post by Kigen »

changelevel is a command designed to only be used through RCON or the server's console. Not by an admin. The problem is that with some addons they open a exploitable hole with changelevel that allows someone to take over your server.
Image

nad
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2010 8:41 am

Re: KAC: Command changelevel violation

Post by nad »

ahhh good to know, so now I have unbanned myself after testing this and it still says I am ipbanned, yet it doesnt show in the banned ip file. I am using sourcebans, any idea on how I can get myself un banned?

Thanks

update, it removed it self after about half an hour.

Post Reply